Space. It’s the most abundant part of the Universe.

Gaps, voids, holes, emptiness, nothingness. Space. How do you manage the most abundant thing in your world?

Space is a funny old thing. We instinctively want to fill it.

Gaps in conversation are awkward. We feel the need to avoid the void and fill it with words – even if they’re meaningless.

Douglas Adams wrote “Time is an illusion. Lunchtime doubly so” (Hitchhikers guide to the galaxy). Time is really one giant big space.

Usually we fill it with To Do Lists, family, friends and anything else we can fit in.

The point is we usually fill it. We have trained ourselves and those around us to live life that way.

I don’t know about you, but waiting time drives me crazy. I’m not a greater waiter.

When someone says they’ll text me and 5 days later I haven’t heard from them, I don’t just think nothing. I think all kinds of things. Are they ok? Are they sad? Sick? Did their phone fail? Are they even alive? Are they ignoring me? Upset with me? Bored of me? Will I EVER hear from them again?

We fill the space between spaces with stuff. Sometimes it’s good, sometimes not.

This week between Christmas and New Year is kind of like that. A space. A space between spaces.

What are you filling it with? Is it setting you up for a great 2013?

Is it positive?

Is it productive?

Is it profitable?

Leave a Reply

