ImageWhen people have been ill, we usually assume that they will get better. 

But when a colleague is incompetent, we sometimes assume they’ll stay that way.

As a trainer, I often see people struggling with simple tasks, simply because they don’t know any better.

We usually learn our jobs from the person who did it before us. But what if the person they learnt from wasn’t very good?

Sometimes, we might go on a “course”. The last course I went on, we got a refund because it was so bad. They did a “make up” training session for free. If it wasn’t for free, I would’ve asked for my money back from that too. 

So if courses and learning from our predecessor hasn’t worked, what’s the answer?

Not many of us are committed to an ongoing pursuit of getting better at our jobs.

That’s why in nearly every job I’ve had, I’ve started up regular training courses for my colleagues. Training others gently forces me into getting better myself. And it also provides a mechanism and inspiration for my colleagues to get better too, so the whole organisation benefits.

This month, one of the students in my class was a colleague who had just returned from Maternity Leave, so she’d never been to one of my sessions before. It was such a delight to see her genuine surprise as she learnt a better way of doing things. She couldn’t contain her joy. She said, out loud, several times, “I can use this straight away! I can’t wait to get back to my desk and try it”.

They’re the moments I love in training.

When was the last time you were getting better?

Leave a comment and let me know.

Leave a Reply

