I wrote this post quite awhile ago…. about this time last year I think. But never posted it for some reason:

I spent this afternoon in the studio reading emergency broadcasts – you know, total fire bans, cyclone warnings, that sort of thing.

At first it felt stressful. And s-t-r-e-t-c-h-f-u-l. I was nervous. Outside my comfort zone.

Thing is though, it used to be way inside my comfort zone. I’m not sure when my zone shifted. It’s been about 15 years since I last checked (in this area).

So, anyway, today, I was making lots of mistakes.

Some I remembered how to fix. Some of the fixes are quick too. Others may take a while.

But the mistakes reminded me of my love affair.


I LOVEmistakes!

Mistakes are one of the most effective triggers for change.

Mistakes give you great information about how far away you are from where you want to be (and sometimes from where you were in the past).

Mistakes are a crucial part of the learning process.

If you really want a great future, promise me you’ll make a mistake today.

Don’t get me wrong, I love success too. And mentors can help you avoid some mistakes and get to success quicker. But as fun as success is, there’s not as much challenge or opportunity to grow, and not as much to learn.

Mistakes are usually a by-product of having a dream or a goal, that is a bit beyond your current ability.

And having dreams like that is important. It’s how we make progress.

So by the end of today’s hours in the studio, I felt at home again. I’d stretched my comfort zone again.

And I’d remembered that Mistakes are a vital part of who you are, not the sum of who you are.

And I fell in love all over again.

So, my love affair continues. Is that a mistake?

Leave a Reply

