I saw Jim Carey talking about what his purpose was – and how important it is to discover your own. Here’s how he put it:

How will you serve the world? What do they need that your talent can provide? That’s all you have to figure out.

I want to introduce myself to you by name.

That might seem obvious. How else would you introduce yourself?

But, actually, we often introduce ourselves using other devices.

We might recite our resume or list off our achievements. My first book, was the first book in the world to be published to a mobile device.

Or we might try giving ourselves a label. I’m an entrepreneur, you know, like Richard Branson.

Or we might rely on our references. My former boss says my “business and financial acumen is outstanding”.

That’s all pretty old school, though. These days, we might mention that we have thousands of followers on twitter and facebook.

Let’s face it, our name is usually the least impressive thing about us. After all, we didn’t have anything to do with it.

In all the years that I’ve been blogging, I’ve only mentioned my name once before (in the 100 facts about me post – even then it took up to fact number 72 to get to it).

My name is Sharon. In English, it is usually translated as Princess.

In Aussie culture, we don’t really have princesses. If someone calls you a princess, they usually mean you need to stop acting like that – and toughen up.

But in Britain, princesses have a pretty great life. Not only do they get to live happily ever after with their prince. But they do it in exotic locations, meeting interesting people and looking cover-girl glamorous.

My name is not British though, it is Hebrew and comes from bible times, when a princess only had one role. My name literally means “Kings shall come from your womb”.

I hear a lot of people say “you reproduce what you are”. Or they advise if you want something find someone who has what you want, and ask them to be your mentor.

But the role of a princess is to reproduce what she is not; a king. And she does it by using what the king has not; a womb. It is a counter-intuitive method of creation; a collaboration of lack.

A king, the most powerful and resourceful person in the whole realm, had one lack that he could never provide for himself – a womb; a place designed to create and nurture kings.

A princess provides the environment of growth where there is lack.

A princess can never be a king. And a king can never be a princess. We need each other to multiply.

We need to humbly recognise that we are here to provide for others where they are lacking. And never forget that without others, we are just as lacking.

It used to puzzle me that I would often be invited, or even turn up without even planning it, at “firsts”. Opening nights seems to be attracted to me like cameras to Kim Kardashian’s ample bottom.

But I rarely got invited back (was it something I said?).

It troubled me until I had this insight. A princess’s role in bible times, was a once-in-a-lifetime role. Once you’ve left the womb, you never need to be invited back.

And the truth is, I don’t even enjoy the long journeys, like some do. I’m not designed for parenting, I’m designed for birthing. I love the excitement and risk and challenge of the new.

I’m great at helping people start.

I love helping people achieve a first.

I thrive in environments where it’s never been done before. I love technology and innovation and invention. I like working with people who have something I don’t have and providing something they don’t have, so we can birth something we both want, something new.

I’ve been through a lot of times when life’s challenges, particularly lack, have forced me to reinvent myself, to find a new part of my identity. And I’ve helped a lot of other people start over and discover their new self, too; their next self, their better self.

In the bible Abram became Abraham, Sarai became Sarah, Jacob became Israel, Simon became Peter, Saul became Paul … and their new self achieved much more than their former self ever could. They went from barren to fruitful, from a pretender to a prince, from a loud mouth to a leader, from a persecutor to a preacher of hope.

That’s how I can help.

I can help you discover who you are yet to become, and help you start becoming that Next You today.

If you need a princess to help you start something new, contact me today.

2 thoughts on “Who I Am and How I Can Help You

Leave a Reply

