Ever heard that saying “can’t see the wood for the trees”? I took a drive out into the countryside on the weekend, and I was reminded by this frequent folly of focus when I was in the heart of a wood, surrounded by trees.

I was freezing cold, and tired after a long day outdoors, and I almost missed the most beautiful golden sunset that was happening just beyond the trees.

Sometimes we get so blinded by the details we literally can’t see the biggest and best thing even when it’s right in front of us.

When it comes to blogging, for example, the difference between success and failure can be all in the headline. If the headline isn’t strong, no one will get to see the article you poured your heart out on. No matter how many hours you spent editing it into perfection.

I know time management can be tricky when you need to produce a new post every week. So please know you’ll help a lot more people find their way into your forest if you spend more time making the headline interesting. (As you can probably tell, I didn’t spend much time on this article at all 😉

Like fishing, if the bait isn’t alluring, you are wasting your time, energy & all that fancy equipment. You’ll just end up frustrated, broke and buying take-away for dinner.

It’s the same with Life. Too often we are spending our time and money and energy on “trees” – the little things that really make no difference at all. And we’re neglecting the “wood” – the big picture, important stuff, that makes up real success.

When I worked at ABC, I learnt how to put an evening news broadcast together. It’s surprisingly simple, because even though the “tree” details vary everyday, the “wood” structure doesn’t. Every bulletin has 5 key headlines; news (local, national and global), sport, and weather.

It changed the way I work with clients, and even in my ministry. Now, no matter what the details are that they want to talk about, I ask them some key questions. When I’m helping people the most is when I’m leading them through 5 key “headlines” of Life. (And in case you’re wondering, no, none of them are about sports or the weather).

All the headlines are prominent themes in the bible. But like the wood, sometimes we can lose focus on them when we stumble through Life. So I’ve developed 5 key questions that will help you identify which headline you need to focus on to get the best results in Life.

It’s too much to detail to go into here, about why it works so effectively. But if you want to find out more about how you can help lead clients (and yourself) in a way that quickly identifies the big picture things that we should be focusing on, I encourage you to download my book “Headliners” today. It’s a quick read and it’s only $3.99. But trust me it’ll do much more for you than a double shot espresso – and you can download it immediately on to your Kindle (or Kindle app if you’re on a phone or desktop).

The results will help you and those you care about navigate the BIG PICTURE in Life, for the rest of your life.

HEADLINERS

And that’s worth taking a trip into the woods for, right?

Leave a Reply

