I’m stubborn.

Sometimes, that’s a good thing. If I’m right and I’m fighting a righteous cause, it’s a very good thing. Nearly every successful person I know has credited at least part of their success to persistence.

If I’m wrong, or what I’m doing isn’t even important, let alone right, stubbornness is a liability.

I once heard a very rich man say “Skeptical and Broke is a bad combination”. He was talking about how thankful he was that he took a risk on something he wasn’t convinced would work. And how now that he was rich, he has turned his skepticism way up.

Just about everything we do is a partnership. We need to recognise what are good partners and what aren’t.

Some people just bring out the best in me. Then there’s the others…

Partnering can be tricky. In business as well as marriage, the right partner can multiply your effectiveness. The wrong partner can block your effectiveness entirely.

And profit is always a partnering thing.

Jesus questioned whether gaining the whole world was profitable at all when the loss was too high – your own soul.

The bible talks about how powerful the word of God is (Hebrews 4:12) but then says it can be rendered completely ineffective by tradition (Matthew 15:6).

Scriptures tell us that faith is the one thing that is absolutely required to please God (Hebrews 11:6), but is not profitable – in fact it is as useless as a corpse – if it isn’t partnered with works (James 2:14-26)

I recently worked in the political sector for the first time. So I studied political books. In Alan Behm’s memoir “No, minister” he quotes the perfect maxim:
“He knew nothing but thought he knew everything; making him perfectly suited for a career in politics”.

Ignorance can be bliss when it is partnered with an insouciant innocence or even a voracious curiosity. But when it is partnered with arrogance it is dangerous at best, and too often completely destructive.

So if you’re mixing it up, how do you find good profit partners?

I look for people that can profit from my knowledge.

I look for situations that can profit from my expertise.

I look for opportunities that will profit from my passion.

I look for projects that will profit from my strengths.

If you do that, you should continually grow in profits.

And it’s just as important to avoid those situations where the losses will be too great. I was reminded again recently how vitally important it is to avoid partners (people, situations, opportunities and projects) that don’t value my knowledge, expertise, passion or strengths. Saying no to those things might make people think that I’m stubborn. And they’re right.

 

Pic Credit: @andrewroblesphoto

Leave a Reply

